Thursday, January 27, 2011

Pooky Speaks (Again)

Looks like I haven't written in the past 3 months. Well, that's what happens when I finally have other things to do in life. And this last statement, dear reader, should be the text-book definition of wishful thinking. Now that our English lesson for the day is over, let me tell you what I have really been up to. First, I prepared for a conference, and then I attended it. (Make no mistake, I have been known to do it the other way around occasionally). My only clear memory of that trip is of being charged for excess baggage because of a poster I was carrying. Oh, I just thought of another one: seeing a homeless man dressed more warmly than I was. Of course, I should have known better than to wear a skirt suit with no overcoat in sub-zero temperatures.
Then, when I got back, my laptop was stolen by some very professional thieves. I say professional, because they did an extremely thorough job of finding not just my laptop, but also the charger, which was in another room, and my headphones (which were attached to the laptop). They also managed to make off with both my roommates' laptops, presumably so that these could keep mine company, in case mine wasn't happy enough being reunited with its soul-mate, the charger (On days when I felt particularly sadistic, I would intentionally keep those two apart). I just have a few last words: Dear laptop, you were sorely missed (for two weeks, till I got a new one). But I'm so over you now, I've even stopped electronically tracking you. Farewell, my friend.
After the semester exams, I went home for the holidays. For some reason, I never have anything to say about holidays. They tend to either rush by like a whirlwind, or creep along like traffic on the Dubai-Sharjah highway. Which makes them difficult to summarize. You know, it's strange that I can't think of anything slower than traffic on a random highway to compare uneventful vacation days to. I must be getting rusty.
I haven't made any new year resolutions this year, but it's too late now. You ask how I know that? Because people have already started to abandon theirs. I don't want to be out-of-date. Maybe I'll make next year's resolutions now. Like a pre-emptive strike on my excuse of not having resolutions, to avoid making lifestyle changes.