So I am planning to get a doctorate. I have done crazier things in life. Like, you ask? Well, let's see.. like falling off a bike (not that I planned that one), running 10km before breakfast (good work if you caught me out on that white lie/ pachha kallam, whichever way you want to look at it based on your language/colour/level of accuracy preference). Oh I have a good example- taking a 16-hour flight... ok, no, that was a direct consequence of the plan that prompted this discussion, hence does not count... hmm, looks like a change of opinion is in order here. I have
Never done anything crazier than than this in all my life. What can I say? Wild is my new middle name.
Just this afternoon, I found one thing I liked about being in the US- macaroni and cheese. So much better than what our sup-dup wallah used to make. Those who went to college with me would have vivid memories of what I am talking about. Other than that, I have no views to share about this place. Not making the same mistake that frog (protagonist of the 'frog in the well' story) made.
However, there is one thing that cracks me up every time- the culture differences. The respect factor is so ingrained in all of us who studied in India that every time a professor walks into class, I find myself standing up. Unfortunately, on occasions like these, I am generally the only student standing. Then I go through an elaborate act to make sure no one suspects what I was really up to: I turn around, frown at my chair like there's something on it (still perfecting that look), then shake my head and sit down. After three weeks I've managed to discipline myself to the point where I get to only a half standing position, where it might look like I was about to get up and leave the class, but thought better of it. You know, like being a good sport, giving the old professor a chance...
Ah, haven't even mentioned any research yet, have I? Well that stuff's happening too. Didn't want my comeback post to be about that. We have lots of time. Somewhere during these 4 years when I run out of stories (as if!), I might consider it. And yes, the blog and I are still alive, thanks for your concern. I hope I have given you ample proof of our existence. Will keep writing, and I promise to keep my promises from now on :)